New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Rohit Sharma has been included in the squad for India's four-match test series against Australia later this year, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Monday, adding that the opener has been rested for the ODI and T20 series.

"The BCCI Medical Team has been monitoring Rohit Sharma's fitness and has briefed All-India Senior Selection Committee on the same. In consultation with Mr Sharma, it has been decided to rest him for the ODIs and T20Is in Australia to regain full fitness and he has been included in India's Test squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy," BCCI said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Indian skipper Virat Kohli will return to India after playing the first test in Adelaide. Kohli and his wife Anushka Sharma are expecting their first child in January, 2021.

"At the selection committee meeting held on October 26th, 2020, Mr Virat Kohli had informed the BCCI about his plans to return to India after the first Test in Adelaide. The BCCI has granted paternity leave to the Indian captain. He will return after the first Test against Australia in Adelaide," he added. 

Pacer Ishant Sharma, who is undergoing his rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, will be added to the test squad once he fully recovers and gains sufficient match fitness, the board said.

Several other Indian players, including Wriddhiman Saha, Varun Chakravarthy and Kamlesh Nagarkoti had sustained injuries during the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League 2020 in the United Arab Emirates. Chakravarthy has been ruled out of the T20 series with a shoulder injury and T Natarajan has been brought in as his replacement. The call on Wriddhiman Saha's inclusion in the squad will be taken later.

Revised squads for the T20, ODI, and Test Series

T20 squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (Wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (Wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (Wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal(Wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (Wk)

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bymrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj

Posted By: Lakshay Raja