New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Test debutant Shreyas Iyer on Friday slammed his maiden Test century on day 2 of the first Test between India and New Zealand at the Green Park Stadium in Kanpur. The right-hander got to three figures with a couple off Kyle Jamieson in the first session of the second day.

With this, Shreyas Iyer became the 16th Indian to slam a century on Test debut. With the century on debut, Iyer joined an illustrious list that includes the legendary Lala Amarnath, Gundappa Viswanath, and BCCI president Sourav Ganguly among others. Iyer scored 105 off 171 balls, striking 13 fours and a couple of sixes during his brilliant effort. He was dismissed by Tim Southee.

He became the second batter after Viswanath to score a hundred on his Test debut at Kanpur. The 26-year-old is also the third Indian to score a hundred on debut against New Zealand. Arjan Kripal Singh, who achieved the feat in 1955, and Surinder Amarnath, who scored a hundred against the Black Caps on his debut in 1976, are the other two Indians to have achieved the same. Iyer is also the third successive Mumbai player after Rohit Sharma and Prithvi Shaw to slam a hundred on Test debut.

The illustrious list:

1. Lala Amarnath v England 1933
2. Deepak Shodhan v Pakistan 1952
3 Arjan Kripal Singh v New Zealand 1955
4. Abbas Ali Baig v England 1959
5. Hanumant Singh v England 1964
6. G Vishwanath v Australia 1969
7. Surinder Amarnath v New Zealand 1976
8. Mohd Azharuddin England 1984
9. Pravin Amre v South Africa 1992
10 Sourav Ganguly v England 1996
11. Virender Sehwag v South Africa 2001
12. Suresh Raina v Sri Lanka 2010
13. Shikhar Dhawan v Australia 2013
14. Rohit Sharma v West Indies 2013
15. Prithvi Shaw v West Indies 2018
16. Shreyas Iyer v New Zealand 2021

Posted By: Talibuddin Khan