New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the sqaud for the Under-19 World Cup 2020. The 16 team tournament will be held in South After from January 17 to February 9.

The 15 member squad will be led by Uttar Pradesh batsman Priyam Garg while wicket-keeper batsman Dhruv Chand Jurel from will be his deputy.   

The squad also includes Mumbai batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal. Jaiswal recently came into the limelight after he smashed a double-century against Jharkhand in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Apart from Jaiswal, the squad includes Mumbai’s Divyansh Saxena, Uttarakhand's Shashwat Rawat and Hyderabad's Tilak Varma.

Priyan’s team will have a huge of defending the title in South Africa. In 2018, under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw, the Indian cricket team had won the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand beating Australia by eight wickets.

Indian batting legend Rahul Dravid, who is coach of the squad, recently spoke about the team’s chances of defending the title and said the ‘good balance’ in the team makes it one of the favourites.

“We have got a good balance in the team. We probably had more all-rounders in last year's team. But in terms of balance, the selectors have done a fine job in picking a good side,” Dravid told Sportstar last week.

“So, if the conditions in South Africa aid the fast bowlers, we will have a pretty good attack. We have got batting down to seven, eight, nine. We have got spinners. We had enough competition for places, so that was nice to see,” he had added.

India squad for U-19 World Cup 2020: Priyam Garg (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Divyaansh Saxena, Dhruv Chand Jurel (vice-captain and wk), Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra (wk), Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma